Former U.S. Representative Randy Hultgren has been selected to succeed Linda Koch as president and CEO of the Illinois Bankers Association (IBA). He will start with the IBA on April 6 and will assume the role of president and CEO on July 1, 2020.

“I’ve known Randy since 1999, when he was first elected to the Illinois House,” said Koch. “From the beginning, I was impressed with his understanding of how important the banking industry is to our local communities and his genuine interest in helping to advance banking.”

Hultgren, an Illinois native, has served in a number of elected offices for over 24 years. Most recently, he served in the United States House of Representatives from 2011-2019, representing the 14th Congressional District of Illinois.

Prior to his time in Congress, he served as a member of the Illinois Senate from 2007-2011, and as a member of the Illinois House of Representatives from 1999-2007, while also serving on the financial institutions committees in both chambers.

 In addition to his public service, Hultgren has worked in finance, banking and law. He currently is a senior vice president of commercial lending with Wintrust Financial, and before being elected to Congress, he was a vice president of Performance Trust Investment Advisors.

Hultgren is a graduate of Wheaton Academy and Bethel University. He received his juris doctorate degree from the IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law in 1993.

“I am truly honored to have this opportunity to represent the Illinois banking industry at the helm of the IBA,” Hultgren commented. “I have always admired this organization’s outstanding work, and, in particular, its integrity in dealing with our elected officials and its bipartisan approach to representing the entire banking industry. As the IBA enters its 130th year, it is a privilege to be the next in a long line of stewards for this venerable organization, and I will take this responsibility to heart every day.”

Hultgren and his wife, Christy, have four children, and the family will be relocating from Plano to Springfield.